The Elaine White P’16, ’21 Endowed Fund for Faculty Innovation

The Elaine White P’16, ’21 Endowed Fund for Faculty Innovation

Last December, Head of School Dr. Peter H. Quimby ’85, P’14, announced that Assistant Head of School and Academic Dean Elaine White P’16,’21 would be leaving her position at the Academy at the end of the 2020–2021 school year to become the ninth head of school at Westminster School in Connecticut. Shortly after this announcement, a movement began within our alumni and family community to honor Elaine and her extraordinary thirty-three years of service at the Academy with the establishment of an endowed fund in her name.

Thanks to generous donations from alumni and family donors who stepped forward, we have established The Elaine White Endowed Fund for Faculty Innovation, which will begin to provide financial support this school year. The fund honors Elaine’s dedication to building the Seven Essential Skills and her enduring motivation to support faculty members who seek to inspire students through critical thinking, collaboration, and the incubation of new ideas—ultimately bringing discovery, joy, and enthusiasm to student learning.

"Elaine’s commitment to high standards, her deep concern for the well-being of her colleagues, and above all, her devotion to her students have made her an incredible asset to the Academy for decades," said Peter Quimby. This endowed fund is a lasting gift that will continue Elaine’s legacy of supporting faculty professional development, new programs and courses, guest speakers on campus, and off-campus discovery trips for many decades to come. "My favorite moments with faculty are when they ask about trying something new. I love to say yes and fund it, even if we aren’t so certain about how it will work out. I want to fuel their desire to inspire," said Elaine.

We are pleased to acknowledge the donors who have chosen to honor Elaine White and her legacy at the Academy:


Ariel Shapiro Aggarwal ’09 and Raghav Aggarwal

William ’67, Trustee, and Joni Alfond

William and Nina Binnie P’10,’11,’15

William ’80, Trustee, and Joanne Brine P’09,’14

Kathryn Burns, Trustee Emerita, and Michael Greeley P’15

Margo L. ’90 and Sunil Dhaliwal

William and Christine Dwyer P’15

Betsy ’84, Trustee, and Tom Farrell P’14,’17,’18,’22

Shirley French, P’76, GP’09, Trustee Emerita

Phillip Gillespie, Trustee, and Daniel Randall P’22

Stephanie Gardner Ginsberg ’85, Trustee, and Scott Ginsberg P’20

Robert and Judith Gore P’95,’97

Eric and Deanna MacDonald P’14,’16

Joshua L. Miner IV ’69, P’96,’98

Nathaniel and Elizabeth P. Stevens Foundation

Daniel M.’67, Trustee Emeritus, and Mayo Morgan P’97,’02

Thomas and Ann Murtagh P’16,’18,’18

Nicole Nadeau and Michael Guldenstern P’21,’21

James ’72, Trustee, and Polly Pierce P’08

Spencer ’75, Trustee, and Lisa Purinton P’13,’14,’20

Kim Rondeau P’16

James ’68, Trustee, and Susan Rudolph P’05,’12

George, Trustee Emeritus, and Coreen Scharfe P’95,’95,’00, GP’23, ’25

Ivan and Martha Schlager P’17

Steven ’74, Trustee, and Eileen Shapiro P’09

Melissa McDonnell Strobel ’04 and Aaron Strobel

Ralph and Valerie Vitale P’18

Chris White P’16,’21

Please note that this honor roll of donors was considered complete on August 1, 2021.